Sigmund Freud Foundation

The Sigmund Freud Foundation was formed in 2003 in order to provide the Sigmund Freud Museum with a secure financial basis and to expand and develop the institution as a research center. It is an independent scholarly foundation whose goal is to promote new and interdisciplinary studies in the human sciences centering on the works of Sigmund Freud, psychoanalysis and related issues from a contemporary perspective.
In this endeavor the Sigmund Freud Foundation accords special emphasis to the following key points:

With the Sigmund Freud Museum, the Sigmund Freud Foundation has a highly original platform at its disposal. The Foundation’s activity will make possible the continuing expansion of Berggasse 19 as an ambitious museum facility in terms of both presentation and content. Here research findings will be made accessible to a broad public in the form of changing exhibitions. The institution’s involvement with contemporary art opens its perspective to links between art and science that extend beyond the bounds of psychoanalysis.

With its library, the Sigmund Freud Foundation has at its disposal Europe’s largest inventory of publications and archive materials dealing with the theory and history of psychoanalysis and related fields as well as an international art collection. These collections offer a unique infrastructure that will allow Berggasse 19 to continue to evolve as a center of international research and exhibition activity.

The international cooperation that began with the Fulbright Commission’s fellowship program will be expanded and intensified.

From 1992 to 2008, Lydia Marinelli was the Foundation's Research Director. She formed the Foundation's scientific profile with her exhibitions, projects, and publications.

Board of Directors


Rudolf Dirisamer

Vice Chairman

Peter Nömaier

Board Member

Monika Pessler

Supervisory Board


Franz Jurkowitsch

Vice Chair(wo)men

René Alfons Haiden
Ulrike Tropper

Commission Members

Stephan Doering
Eva-Maria Höhle
Peter Kampits
Monika Knofler
Emil Mezgolits
Hans-Otto Thomashoff
Wolfgang Wais

Staff Association

Georg Thaler
Robert Stepniak

Advisory Committee


Jeanne Wolff Bernstein (Psychoanalytic Institute of Northern California)

Vice Chairman

Herman Westerink (Radboud University Nijmegen)


Alexander Filts (National Medical University Lwiw)
Rubén Gallo (Princeton University)
Gohar Homayounpour (Shahid Beheshti University Tehran)
Viktor Mazin (East European Institute of Psychoanalysis St. Petersburg)
Felix de Mendelssohn (Sigmund Freud University Vienna)
Peter Pakesch (Universalmuseum Joanneum Graz)
Carlo Strenger (Tel Aviv University)